Review: The Sixth Watch 

The final story in Sergei Lukyanenko’s series. I have spoken previously on this blog regarding this particular set of books, but as I have been engrossed in them so long and now that it has ended I felt the need to do a commemorative blog just to say how much I have enjoyed them and that I do recommend people give them a try.

As usual with this book we are led back to the life of Anton Gorodetsky, wife Svetlana and daughter Nadya to follow the tale of race of Others walking the earth unknown to the humans. They are again pitted against the temperament of human nature and once again what the state of the world means for them. As usual the author manages to blur each and every line of social etiquette possible and you once again embark to a story that you assume may answer questions when in reality all it does is pose more and more questions that no one will fully be able to decide a fully consensual answer to.

I love these stories because of the breadth of human exploration that develops within the

characters. Considering them each so carefully we are able to see in these stories a complex web open and we are shown the frivolities of humanity, and the underlying facts, mysteries and horrors that exist in all of us and in the society and history of us as a race.

The strong and yet subtlety displayed discussion of politics, science, psychology and sociocultural that is interweaved into all pages of this book show the intellect and concerns of the author reflecting back at us the mess and haze of our lives and existence, and in that demonstrates it’s grotesque failures in perfect harmony with its amazing beauty and success.

This is not so much an  assassination of  mankind as per the usual tone of any dystopian fiction, I feel it actually shows much hope and something to be celebrated in the possession of humanity which is so often looked down upon and shunned by the Others who are in truth much more aware of the intricate workings of the world than the people that they protect and consider cattle.

I will not spoil anything for those that have not read these books, but Lukyanenko has created a turbulent and toxic world that is gripping, scary and addictive. I have managed to get much from these books in all that I have discussed, but also they are brilliantly written enjoyable stories that have you piqued and fighting for characters at all different points in the story and more so I myself by the end I realised I liked all of them, I felt for all of them in one way of another, or I least I understood them.

And the ending of this saga, I realised once I had finished could have been no other way, I believe he has summed this up perfectly. It may not be exactly what you want, but it is reality, and if there is anything his books are they are fantasy based on so much reality.

Leave a Reply

